Nevada is one of the best states in the country regarding taxes. They are one of 9 states that have no personal income tax. They also have one of the strongest LLC protection statues in the country.
State Income Taxes in Nevada
The state of Nevada does not have individual income tax, one of only 8 states in the union.
State Business Taxes in Nevada
The state of Nevada does not have business income tax, however it does have a two separate business taxes called the Commerce Tax and Modified Business Tax.
Commerce Tax – the Commerce Tax is a gross margins tax assessed on businesses that have over $4 Million in Revenue in Nevada. The tax is based on fiscal year (July 1st through June 30th of the following year) and you only must report to the State if your gross margins are over $4 Million. Your tax rate is based on your businesses NAICS code. The average tax rate is 0.19%.
Modified Business Tax (MBT) – the Modified Business is a quarterly tax that is assessed on payroll. It is paid quarterly and are usually processed by payroll companies like ADP or Gusto. Your MBT is 1.378% of any wages you paid over $50,000 (less health insurance or wages paid to veterans) in the quarter. Additionally, you are allowed a tax credit for any Commerce Tax you may have paid.
Sales and Property Taxes in Nevada
Sales Tax – Like many states, Nevada has multiple tax rates. One at the state level and another at the local level. The state rate is 6.85% the average local rate is 1.47% (total average rate for Nevada Sales Tax is 8.32%)
Property Tax – The average property tax rate for residential property in the state of Nevada is 0.66%, making it a very preferable place to own property. There is a cap on how much the state of Nevada can raise property taxes in a given year:
- Owner-occupied home – Maximum increase is 3% (eg. Your prop tax is $1,000 in year one, they can only raise it to $1,030 in year 2)
- Rental Property – Maximum increase is 8% (ex. Your prop tax is $1,000 in year one, they can only raise it to $1,080 in year 2)
Unemployment Taxes in Nevada
Unemployment taxes usually consist of three factors. They are the wage base, range of rates, number of schedules. Below is an outline of the three.
- Wage Base – Nevada has a high wage base of $32,500 for 2020
- UI Rates – range from 0.30% to 5.40%
- Schedules – Nevada has only one schedule of rates for UI taxes
Nevada Business Entities – LLCs
Nevada is one of the best states in the country to set up your LLC due to its robust LLC laws. Here are some important facts:
- Annual fee is $350 per year ($650 if you own a Corporation)
- First year you file there is an additional fee of $75.00
- Secretary of State of Nevada website – click here